PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Art and Cultural Informatics

Art and Cultural Informatics is an area of informatics dealing with information as medium and content for art production, experience, and dissemination.

The Informatics PhD, with an Art and Cultural Informatics Area, addresses these needs explicitly in its design: it makes technological knowledge (theoretical and practical) an intrinsic part of the curriculum; it draws on a wide base of disciplinary courses to establish interdisciplinary breadth; it emphasizes innovative interdisciplinary, collaborative research aimed specifically at meeting the challenges of creating art in collaborative, interdisciplinary, technologically enabled settings.

Cultural Informatics is a broad term encompassing all areas in which the application of new information technologies will and might impact human culture: we see it playing an increasingly central role in culture production, experience, dissemination, and comprehension. It is inherently boundary breaking, fundamentally inter- multi- and trans-disciplinary. Informatics, broadly speaking, is impacting all branches of knowledge, all human exploration, experience, and understandings of the world.

“Cultural Informatics” is that part of informatics that emphasizes understanding of the human world, that which is made or influenced by humanity: from history, social science, cultural studies, to written, visual, sonic, and kinetic communication, technology is transforming all aspects of human endeavor, all culture, all societies and communities.

The Arts are an important part of Cultural Informatics. New technology and associated new modes of creative cultural expression and communication will radically transform the arts of the 21st Century. The impact of new technologies will be felt in four key areas: it will change the practice, the experience, and the dissemination of the arts, and through these it will change the role of the arts in culture and society.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department
Name Email Department

John Stallmeyer

stallmyr@illinois.edu Architecture

Thérèse Tierney

tierney@illinois.edu Architecture

Ben Grosser

grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design

Stan Ruecker

sruecker@illinois.edu Art & Design

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science

Paris Smaragdis

paris@illinois.edu Computer Science

Mark Dressman

mdressma@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Robb Lindgren

robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

John Toenjes

jtoenjes@illinois.edu Dance

Eboni Zamani-Gallaher

ezamanig@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organization and Leadership

John Randolph

jwr@illinois.edu History

Deana McDonagh

mcdonagh@illinois.edu Industrial Design

Allen Renear

renear@illinois.edu iSchool

Bonnie Mak

bmak@illinois.edu iSchool

Emily Knox

knox@illinois.edu iSchool

J. Stephen Downie

jdownie@illinois.edu iSchool

Jerome McDonough

jmcdonou@illinois.edu iSchool

Jodi Schneider

jodi@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate McDowell

kmcdowel@illinois.edu iSchool

Kathryn LaBarre

klabarre@illinois.edu iSchool

Lori Kendall

loriken@illinois.edu iSchool

Michael Twidale

twidale@illinois.edu iSchool

Citlali Lopez-Ortiz

lopezort@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Anita Chan

achan@illinois.edu Media & Cinema Studies

Heinrich Taube

taube@illinois.edu Music

Stephen Taylor

staylor7@illinois.edu Music

Donna Cox

cox@ncsa.illinois.edu NCSA

Judith Pintar

jpintar@illinois.edu Slavic Languages
Name Email Area

Mohammad Amanzadeh

amanzad2@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics

William Gillespie

gillespi@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics

Ryan Ingebritsen

ingebrit@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics
Design, Technology and Society

Kyungho Lee

klee141@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics

Courses

Application CoursesFoundation Courses