PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Bioinformatics

The vast molecular biology information resulting from high throughput genomic, proteomic and other ‘omic’ projects challenges the understanding of the role of genes, proteins and other molecules and the use of this knowledge in applications related to health, well-being, agriculture, society, and environment.

The field of bioinformatics encompasses a wide range of research efforts that aim at gaining insights into biological processes through the development and implementation of repositories and tools, and the computational and statistical analysis of biological information. Computational, informatics, statistical, and mathematical resources and technologies are integrated to organize, analyze, and visualize biological data at multiple levels of organization, from molecules and phenotypes to populations and ecosystems.

Program

The Bioinformatics Area of the Ph.D. in Informatics fosters the academic, research, and intellectual development of students on bioinformatics theory and applications important for our understanding biological patterns and processes in the living world, including human, model and agricultural species, and microbes of economic or medical importance.

This Area incorporates coursework in multiple disciplines related to bioinformatics including ‘omic’ themes (i.e. genomics, proteomics, metabolomics, comparative omics), phylogenetics, molecular evolution, evolutionary genomics, statistical genetics, statistical genomics, systems and network biology, quantitative genetics, structural biology, biotext mining, and e-science.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

Gustavo Caetano-Anolles

gca@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Sandra Rodriguez-Zas

rodrgzzs@illinois.edu Animal Sciences
Name Email Department

Alison Bell

alisonmb@life.illinois.edu Animal Biology (SIB)

Alfred Roca

roca@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Anna Kukekova

avk@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Juan Loor

jloor@uiuc.edu Animal Sciences

Sandra Rodriguez-Zas

rodrgzzs@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Charles Roseman

croseman@illinois.edu Anthropology

Paul Jensen

pjens@illinois.edu Bioengineering

Nathan Price

ndprice@illinois.edu CBE

Huimin Zhao

zhao5@illinois.edu Chemistry

Martin Burke

burke@scs.uiuc.edu Chemistry

Jian Peng

jianpeng@illinois.edu Computer Science

Julia Hockenmaier

juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science

Alexander Lipka

alipka@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Donald Bullock

dbullock@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Gustavo Caetano-Anolles

gca@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Lila Vodkin

l-vodkin@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Maria B. Villamil

villamil@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Stephen Long

slong@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Stephen Moose

smoose@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Steven Clough

sjclough@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Gene Robinson

generobi@illinois.edu Entomology/Institute for Genomic Biology

Margarita Teran-Garcia

teranmd@illinois.edu Food Sciences and Human Nutrition

Mei-Po Kwan

mkwan@illinois.edu Geography

Les Gasser

gasser@illinois.edu iSchool

Lisa Stubbs

ljstubbs@illinois.edu MCB

Philip Best

pbest@life.illinois.edu MCB

Bruce Schatz

schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science

Gary Olsen

gary@life.illinois.edu Microbiology

Schuyler Korban

korban@illinois.edu NRES

Yuan-Xiang Pan

yxpan@illinois.edu Nutritional Sciences

Amy Marshall-Colon

amymc@illinois.edu Plant Biology

Surangi Punyasena

punyasena@life.illinois.edu Plant Biology

Dave Zhao

sdzhao@illinois.edu Statistics

Naveen Narisetty

naveen@illinois.edu Statistics

Ron Weigel

weigel@illinois.edu VetMed/ Pathobiology
Name Email Area

Syed Abbas Bukhari

sbukhar@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Usawadee Chaiprom

chaipro2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Bushra Minhas

bfazal2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Fizza Mughal

fmughal2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Halie Rando

rando2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Joseph Troy

jmtroy2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Daniel Wickland

wicklan2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Pan Zhang

panz2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Courses

Application CoursesFoundation Courses