PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Cognitive Science and Language Processing is a multidisciplinary program for students with an interest in computational approaches to intelligence. Cognitive science is the study of mind and intelligence, embracing philosophy, psychology, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, and linguistics.

The central hypothesis of cognitive science assumes that the mind has mental representations analogous to computer data structures, and computational procedures similar to computer algorithms. Cognitive theorists have proposed that the mind contains such mental representations as logical propositions, rules, concepts, images, and analogies, and that it uses mental procedures such as deduction, search, matching, rotating, and retrieval.

Our program also includes the inverse direction, using human cognition to improve computer processing within speech and language understanding systems.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

John Hummel

jehummel@illinois.edu Psychology
Name Email Department

Ben Grosser

grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design

Alex Kirlik

kirlik@illinois.edu Computer Science

Chengxiang Zhai

czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science

David Forsyth

daf@illinois.edu Computer Science

Julia Hockenmaier

juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science

Kevin Chang

kcchang@illinois.edu Computer Science

Emma Mercier

mercier@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson

jhasegaw@illinois.edu ECE

Dan Morrow

dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

Catherine Blake

clblake@illinois.edu iSchool

Jana Diesner

jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool

Jodi Schneider

jodi@illinois.edu iSchool

Les Gasser

gasser@illinois.edu iSchool

Chilin Shih

cls@illinois.edu Linguistics

Roxana Girju

girju@illinois.edu Linguistics

Cynthia Fisher

clfishe@illinois.edu Psychology

Daniel Simons

dsimons@illinois.edu Psychology

Dolores Albarracin

dalbarra@illinois.edu Psychology

Gary Dell

gdell@illinois.edu Psychology

John Hummel

jehummel@illinois.edu Psychology
Name Email Area

Ryan Chandler

rchan8@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Kelechi Ikegwu

ikegwu2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Donald Keefer

dkeefer@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Yishuo Liu

yliu256@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Mark Moran

markdm2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Santiago Nuñez-Corrales

nunezco2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Justin Pence

jpence2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Nate Russell

ntrusse2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Janina Sarol

mjsarol@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Sean Wilner

swilner2@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Xuesong Yang

xyang45@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Courses