PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Analytics and Visualization encompass data management, information retrieval, knowledge analysis, and conceptual understanding in the context of large-scale organizational systems.

This Area supports technology-driven applications-oriented students in data mining, information retrieval, machine learning, information visualization, human-computer interaction, intelligent discovery environments, intelligent analysis systems, computational statistics, business analytics, and social and behavioral analytics.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

Douglas Simpson

dgs@illinois.edu Statistics
Name Email Department

Robert Brunner

bigdog@illinois.edu Accountancy

Vic Anand

vanand@illinois.edu Accountancy

Ben Grosser

grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design

Paul Jensen

pjens@illinois.edu Bioengineering

Arthur Schmidt

aschmidt@uiuc.edu CEE

Mani Golparvar-Fard

mgolpar@illinois.edu CEE

Gabrielle Allen

gdallen@illinois.edu College of Education

Janet Thorlton

thorlton@illinois.edu College of Nursing- UIC

Adam Bates

batesa@illinois.edu Computer Science

Aditya Parameswaran

adityagp@illinois.edu Computer Science

Chengxiang Zhai

czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science

David Forsyth

daf@illinois.edu Computer Science

John Hart

jch@illinois.edu Computer Science

Julia Hockenmaier

juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science

Kevin Chang

kcchang@illinois.edu Computer Science

Paris Smaragdis

paris@illinois.edu Computer Science

Svetlana Lazebnik

slazebni@illinois.edu Computer Science

Tao Xie

taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science

Yizhou Yu

yyz@illinois.edu Computer Science

Alexander Lipka

alipka@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Luc Paquette

lpaq@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Robb Lindgren

robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Zeynep Madak-Erdogan

zmadake2@illinois.edu Food Science & Human Nutrition

Catherine Blake

clblake@illinois.edu iSchool

David Dubin

ddubin@illinois.edu iSchool

Jodi Schneider

jodi@illinois.edu iSchool

Michael Twidale

twidale@illinois.edu iSchool

Vetle Torvik

vtorvik@illinois.edu iSchool

Shannon Mejía

stmejia@illinois.edu Kinesiology and Community Health

Brian Deal

deal@illinois.edu Landscape Architecture

George Francis

gfrancis@illinois.edu Math

Bruce Schatz

schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science

Daniel Katz

dskatz@illinois.edu NCSA

Zahra Mohaghegh

zahra13@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Amy Marshall-Colon

amymc@illinois.edu Plant Biology

Surangi Punyasena

punyasena@life.illinois.edu Plant Biology

Dave Zhao

sdzhao@illinois.edu Statistics

Douglas Simpson

dgs@illinois.edu Statistics

Jeff Douglas

jeffdoug@illinois.edu Statistics

Naveen Narisetty

naveen@illinois.edu Statistics

Steven Culpepper

sculpepp@illinois.edu Statistics

Xiaohui Chen

xhchen@illinois.edu Statistics

Yuguo Chen

yuguo@illinois.edu Statistics
Name Email Area

Aseel Addawood

aaddaw2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

James Balamuta

balamut2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

John Capozzo

capozzo2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Jarai Carter

carter31@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Acton Gorton

agorton2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Colleen Heinemann

heinmnn2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Chang Liu

cliu100@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Siva Ratna Kumari Narisetti

srn3@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Janina Sarol

mjsarol@illinois.edu Cognitive Science and Language Processing
Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Mikko Tuomela

mstuomel@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Sam Walkow

swalkow2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
Design, Technology and Society

Bradley Woodruff

bsw@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Courses