PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Design, Technology, and Society

Students in the Design, Technology, and Society Area investigate the interrelationship between information technology and social, political, and cultural processes and values.

This includes both the analysis of the larger consequences of informatics systems and the criticism, design, and re-design of systems to address public needs and problems. Research may involve design processes, human communication and interaction, the larger contexts of these systems (such as the legal, economic, cultural, educational, or other contexts) and the repercussions of any of these topics.

This program area supports students interested in pursuing informatics research from the intellectual traditions and methods of either the social sciences or the humanities, as well as the domains of community informatics and social informatics.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science
Name Email Department

Patrick Vargas

pvargas@illinois.edu Advertising

Thérèse Tierney

tierney@illinois.edu Architecture

Ben Grosser

grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design

M. Scott Poole

mspoole@illinois.edu Communications

Alex Kirlik

kirlik@illinois.edu Computer Science

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science

Tao Xie

taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science

Emma Mercier

mercier@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Mark Dressman

mdressma@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Robb Lindgren

robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Dan Morrow

dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

Spencer Schaffner

spencers@illinois.edu English

Mei-Po Kwan

mkwan@illinois.edu Geography

Bonnie Mak

bmak@illinois.edu iSchool

Carol Tilley

ctilley@illinois.edu iSchool

Catherine Blake

clblake@illinois.edu iSchool

Jana Diesner

jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool

Jerome McDonough

jmcdonou@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate McDowell

kmcdowel@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate Williams

katewill@illinois.edu iSchool

Kathryn LaBarre

klabarre@illinois.edu iSchool

Les Gasser

gasser@illinois.edu iSchool

Linda Smith

lcsmith@illinois.edu iSchool

Lori Kendall

loriken@illinois.edu iSchool

Michael Twidale

twidale@illinois.edu iSchool

Nicole Cooke

nacooke@illinois.edu iSchool

Terry Weech

weech@illinois.edu iSchool

Citlali Lopez-Ortiz

lopezort@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Wendy Rogers

wendyr@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Arden Rowell

karowell@illinois.edu Law

Jay Kesan

kesan@illinois.edu Law

Anita Chan

achan@illinois.edu Media & Cinema Studies

Kevin Hamilton

kham@illinois.edu New Media

Ryan Griffis

ryan.griffis@gmail.com New Media

Zahra Mohaghegh

zahra13@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Scott Althaus

salthaus@illinois.edu Political Science

Judith Pintar

jpintar@illinois.edu Slavic Languages

Maya Israel

misrael@illinois.edu Special Education

Courses