PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Design, Technology, and Society

Students in the Design, Technology, and Society Area investigate the interrelationship between information technology and social, political, and cultural processes and values.

This includes both the analysis of the larger consequences of informatics systems and the criticism, design, and re-design of systems to address public needs and problems. Research may involve design processes, human communication and interaction, the larger contexts of these systems (such as the legal, economic, cultural, educational, or other contexts) and the repercussions of any of these topics.

This program area supports students interested in pursuing informatics research from the intellectual traditions and methods of either the social sciences or the humanities, as well as the domains of community informatics and social informatics.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science
Name Email Department

Mike Yao

mzyao@illinois.edu Advertising

Patrick Vargas

pvargas@illinois.edu Advertising

Aaron Brakke

aaron@illinois.edu Architecture

Thérèse Tierney

tierney@illinois.edu Architecture

Ben Grosser

grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design

M. Scott Poole

mspoole@illinois.edu Communications

Alex Kirlik

kirlik@illinois.edu Computer Science

Eshwar Chandrasekharan

eshwar@illinois.edu Computer Science

Hanghang Tong

htong@illinois.edu Computer Science

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science

Roy Campbell

rhc@illinois.edu Computer Science

Tao Xie

taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science

Emma Mercier

mercier@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Mark Dressman

mdressma@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Michael Tissenbaum

miketiss@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Robb Lindgren

robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Rochelle Gutierrez

rg1@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Nathan Castillo

nathanc@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organization & Leadership

Nicholas Burbules

burbules@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organzation & Leadership

Cynthia D'Angelo

cdangelo@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

Dan Morrow

dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

John Gallagher

johng@illinois.edu English

Spencer Schaffner

spencers@illinois.edu English

Kevin Hamilton

kham@illinois.edu Fine + Applied Arts

Mei-Po Kwan

mkwan@illinois.edu Geography

Eric Benson

ebenson@illinois.edu Graphic Design

Lisa Mercer

lemercer@illinois.edu Graphic Design

John Randolph

jwr@illinois.edu History

Vivechkanand Chunoo

vchunoo@illinois.edu Human Development and Family Studies

Dan Cermak

dcermak@illinois.edu Informatics

Anita Chan

achan@illinois.edu iSchool

Bonnie Mak

bmak@illinois.edu iSchool

Carol Tilley

ctilley@illinois.edu iSchool

Catherine Blake

clblake@illinois.edu iSchool

Eunice Santos

eesantos@illinois.edu iSchool

Jana Diesner

jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool

Jerome McDonough

jmcdonou@illinois.edu iSchool

Jodi Schneider

jodi@illinois.edu iSchool

Judith Pintar

jpintar@illinois.edu iSchool

Karen Wickett

wickett2@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate McDowell

kmcdowel@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate Williams

katewill@illinois.edu iSchool

Kathryn LaBarre

klabarre@illinois.edu iSchool

Kyungwon Koh

kkoh@illinois.edu iSchool

Linda Smith

lcsmith@illinois.edu iSchool

Lori Kendall

loriken@illinois.edu iSchool

Madelyn Sanfilippo

madelyn2@illinois.edu iSchool

Martin Wolske

mwolske@illinois.edu iSchool

Melissa Ocepek

mgocepek@illinois.edu iSchool

Michael Twidale

twidale@illinois.edu iSchool

Peter Darch

ptdarch@illinois.edu iSchool

Terry Weech

weech@illinois.edu iSchool

Yang Wang

yvw@illinois.edu iSchool

Yun Huang

yunhuang@illinois.edu iSchool

Christopher Ball

drball@illinois.edu Journalism

Citlali Lopez-Ortiz

lopezort@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Wendy Rogers

wendyr@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Arden Rowell

karowell@illinois.edu Law

Randall Sadler

rsadler@illinois.edu Linguistics

Eli Fieldsteel

eli@illinois.edu Music

Ryan Griffis

ryan.griffis@gmail.com New Media

Zahra Mohaghegh

zahra13@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Scott Althaus

salthaus@illinois.edu Political Science
Name Email Area

John Bambenek

bambenek@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Priscilla Boff Ferronato

pf4@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Eugene Cox

emcox3@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Juan De La Rosa

juanad2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Daniela Delgado Ramos

dd6@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Gerry Derksen

gderksen@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Alvarez Dixon

alvarezd@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Craig Evans

csevans2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Claudia Grisales

clg3@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Moazam Hakim

mihakim2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
Design, Technology and Society
Spatial Informatics

Xiaotong Hu

xh9@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
Design, Technology and Society

Tooba Imtiyaz

tooba2@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics
Design, Technology and Society

Ryan Ingebritsen

ingebrit@illinois.edu Art and Cultural Informatics
Design, Technology and Society

Alexis Kim

ankim2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Susan Liepert

liepert@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Daniela Markazi

dmarkaz2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Eunmi Moon

ekmoon@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Siva Ratna Kumari Narisetti

srn3@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
Design, Technology and Society

Monica Porteanu

monicap2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Tanusree Sharma

tsharma6@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Cliff Shin

thecliff@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Yaguang Sun

yaguang2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Sam Walkow

swalkow2@illinois.edu Data Analytics and Information Visualization
Design, Technology and Society

Ke-Rou Wang

kerourw2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Tian Wang

tianw7@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Pingjing Yang

py2@illinois.edu Design, Technology and Society

Courses

Application CoursesFoundation Courses
Number Title Notes
CMN 529 CS Communication Technologies
CMN 529 SP Theory and Research on Collaboration Technologies
EPSY 590 Advanced Seminar in Ed Psyc Course name depends on section.
INFO 555 Adv Educational Tech for Engagement & Interactive Learning
IS 520 (formerly taught as IS 518) Community Informatics
IS 578 (formerly taught as IS 590DH) Digital Humanities
IS 586 (formerly taught as IS 555) Usability Engineering
IS 590 DK Distributed Knowledge
IS 590 EL E-Learning: Social and Technical Issues in E-learning
IS 590 SD Digital Social Sciences
IS 594D (formerly taught as IS 549) The Economics of Information
MDIA 590 New Media Theory
Number Title Notes
CMN 529 MS Social Network Analysis
CS 598 KGK Social Computing
IS 507 (formerly taught as IS 542) Data, Stat and Info
IS 586 (formerly taught as IS 555) Usability Engineering
IS 590 DEL Design of Digitally Mediated Information Services
IS 590 IML Information Modeling
IS 590 IN Information Networks
IS 590 IS Information in Society
IS 590 MD Metadata in Theory and Practice
IS 590 OI Organizations, Information & Technology
IS 590 SN Social Networks and Information
PS 519 SA Content Analysis