PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Health and Medical Informatics

Medical informatics is concerned with all aspects of understanding and promoting the effective organization, analysis, management, and use of information in health care. The emphasis in the informatics program is on health information technology.

Medical Informatics has traditionally supported acute care in hospitals via development and deployment of electronic medical records. Health Informatics is a newer term including information management for chronic care in homes, particularly development and deployment of personal health records.

This Area supports students in areas related to healthcare infrastructure, particularly population management of everyday chronic conditions. It includes national healthcare infrastructure, such as development of portable health records. We will also support students who wish to investigate public health, such as population management of infectious disease epidemiology.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

Bruce Schatz

schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science
Name Email Department

Alfred Roca

roca@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Sandra Rodriguez-Zas

rodrgzzs@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Charles Roseman

croseman@illinois.edu Anthropology

Nathan Price

ndprice@illinois.edu CBE

Huimin Zhao

zhao5@illinois.edu Chemistry

Chengxiang Zhai

czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science

Julia Hockenmaier

juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science

Tao Xie

taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science

Donald Bullock

dbullock@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Gustavo Caetano-Anolles

gca@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Lila Vodkin

l-vodkin@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Stephen Long

slong@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Steven Clough

sjclough@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Dan Morrow

dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

Gene Robinson

generobi@illinois.edu Entomology/Institute for Genomic Biology

Margarita Teran-Garcia

teranmd@illinois.edu Food Sciences and Human Nutrition

Mei-Po Kwan

mkwan@illinois.edu Geography

Kangjae Lee

klee171@illinois.edu Informatics

Karen Allen

allen6@illinois.edu Informatics

Catherine Blake

clblake@illinois.edu iSchool

Ian Brooks

ianb@illinois.edu iSchool

Linda Smith

lcsmith@illinois.edu iSchool

Citlali Lopez-Ortiz

lopezort@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Sean Mullen

spmullen@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Wendy Rogers

wendyr@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Lisa Stubbs

ljstubbs@illinois.edu MCB

Philip Best

pbest@life.illinois.edu MCB

Bruce Schatz

schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science

Gary Olsen

gary@life.illinois.edu Microbiology

Schuyler Korban

korban@illinois.edu NRES

Dolores Albarracin

dalbarra@illinois.edu Psychology

Matt Browning

brownin@illinois.edu Recreation, Sport & Tourism

Ron Weigel

weigel@illinois.edu VetMed/ Pathobiology
Name Email Arwa

Karen Allen

allen6@illinois.edu

Health and Medical Informatics

Kangjae Lee

klee171@illinois.edu

Health and Medical Informatics

Courses

Application CoursesFoundation Courses