PROGRAMS  |  PHD PROGRAM  |  RESEARCH AREAS

Spatial Informatics

Spatial Informatics represents an overarching umbrella for studying theories, methods, and applications of spatial analysis/modeling; and spatial data handling, management, and visualization. Spatial informatics research and education are becoming increasingly important as data-intensive, large-scale, and/or multi-scale problems that involve the use and development of GIS (Geographic Information Systems) and spatial analysis/modeling are becoming ubiquitous in scientific discovery and decision-making in many fields.

Examples of research themes include development of new theories, methods and software in GIScience (Geographic Information Science), policy and user issues of GIS, geospatial data accessibility, spatial decision support systems, geospatial problem solving environments, and novel applications of GIS such as in Business, Earth sciences, Environmental Science and Engineering, Epidemiology, Geography and Regional Science, Natural Resource Management, and Urban and Regional Planning.

People

Area LeadsFaculty AffiliatesPhD Students
Name Email Department

Shaowen Wang

shaowen@illinois.edu Geography
Name Email Department

Robert Brunner

bigdog@illinois.edu Accountancy

Atul Jain

jain@illinois.edu Atmospheric Sciences

Arthur Schmidt

aschmidt@uiuc.edu CEE

Praveen Kumar

kumar1@illinois.edu CEE

Nicolas Martin

nfmartin@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Eboni Zamani-Gallaher

ezamanig@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organization and Leadership

Mei-Po Kwan

mkwan@illinois.edu Geography

Sara McLafferty

smclaff@illinois.edu Geography

Shaowen Wang

shaowen@illinois.edu Geography

John Randolph

jwr@illinois.edu History

Yu-Feng Lin

yflin@illinois.edu IL State Geological Survey

Kuimars Soltani

soltani2@illinois.edu Informatics

Si Chen

sichen12@illinois.edu Informatics

Yan Liu

yanliu@illinois.edu Informatics

Andrew C. Phillips

aphillps@illinois.edu ISGS

Arden Rowell

karowell@illinois.edu Law

Bo Li

libo@illinois.edu Statistics

Bev Wilson

bevwilso@illinois.edu Urban & Regional Planning

Marilyn O’Hara Ruiz

moruiz@illinois.edu VetMed
Name Email Area

Si Chen

sichen12@illinois.edu

Spatial Informatics

Kuimars Soltani

soltani2@illinois.edu

Spatial Informatics

Courses

Application CoursesFoundation Courses