PEOPLE

Informatics People

The Informatics community at Illinois is broad and diverse, and spans multiple disciplines — from science and engineering, to arts and humanities, to the social sciences.

Most members are listed in the tables below. For more detail, and to see how faculty and grad students are connected by research area, see the specific pages for each group:

  • Administration and support staff of I3 manage its education programs, research grants, and other institute activities.
  • Faculty affiliates are faculty members who have ties with I3 through research interests, courses offered (either graduate or undergraduate), and/or the willingness to advise Informatics PhD students.
  • Graduate students pursuing a PhD in Informatics concentrate their studies in one of seven research areas such as Bioinformatics or Spatial Informatics. Doctoral students who have recently graduated are also listed separately below, and more details can be found on the Recent PhD Graduates page.
Informatics staffAffiliated facultyGraduate studentsRecent PhD Graduates
Name Email Department

Allen Renear

renear@illinois.edu iSchool

Lisa Bievenue

bievenue@illinois.edu Informatics

Karin Readel

kereadel@illinois.edu Informatics

Jeff Ginger

ginger@illinois.edu Informatics

Boris Capitanu

capitanu@illinois.edu Informatics

Loretta Auvil

lauvil@illinois.edu Informatics

Michael Haberman

haberman@illinois.edu Informatics
Name Email Department

Brittany Duff

bduff@illinois.edu Advertising

Patrick Vargas

pvargas@illinois.edu Advertising

Alison Bell

alisonmb@life.illinois.edu Animal Biology (SIB)

Alfred Roca

roca@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Anna Kukekova

avk@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Juan Loor

jloor@uiuc.edu Animal Sciences

Sandra Rodriguez-Zas

rodrgzzs@illinois.edu Animal Sciences

Charles Roseman

croseman@illinois.edu Anthropology

John Stallmeyer

stallmyr@illinois.edu Architecture

Thérèse Tierney

tierney@illinois.edu Architecture

Ben Grosser

grosser@illinois.edu Art & Design

Stan Ruecker

sruecker@illinois.edu Art & Design

Tyler Denmead

tdenmead@illinois.edu Art Education

Robert Brunner

bigdog@illinois.edu Astronomy

Atul Jain

jain@illinois.edu Atmospheric Sciences

Paul Jensen

pjens@illinois.edu Bioengineering

Nathan Price

ndprice@illinois.edu CBE

Arthur Schmidt

aschmidt@uiuc.edu CEE

Mani Golparvar-Fard

mgolpar@illinois.edu CEE

Praveen Kumar

kumar1@illinois.edu CEE

Huimin Zhao

zhao5@illinois.edu Chemistry

Martin Burke

burke@scs.uiuc.edu Chemistry

Sally Jackson

sallyj@illinois.edu Communication

M. Scott Poole

mspoole@illinois.edu Communications

Alex Kirlik

kirlik@illinois.edu Computer Science

Chengxiang Zhai

czhai@illinois.edu Computer Science

David Forsyth

daf@illinois.edu Computer Science

Derek Hoiem

dhoiem@uiuc.edu Computer Science

Gul Agha

agha@illinois.edu Computer Science

Jian Peng

jianpeng@illinois.edu Computer Science

Jiawei Han

hanj@cs.uiuc.edu Computer Science

Julia Hockenmaier

juliahmr@illinois.edu Computer Science

Karrie Karahalios

kkarahal@illinois.edu Computer Science

Kevin Chang

kcchang@illinois.edu Computer Science

Paris Smaragdis

paris@illinois.edu Computer Science

Saurabh Sinha

sinhas@illinois.edu Computer Science

Svetlana Lazebnik

slazebni@illinois.edu Computer Science

Tao Xie

taoxie@illinois.edu Computer Science

Yizhou Yu

yyz@illinois.edu Computer Science

Alexander Lipka

alipka@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Donald Bullock

dbullock@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Gustavo Caetano-Anolles

gca@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Lila Vodkin

l-vodkin@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Maria B. Villamil

villamil@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Matthew Hudson

mhudson@uiuc.edu Crop Sciences

Stephen Long

slong@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Stephen Moose

smoose@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Steven Clough

sjclough@illinois.edu Crop Sciences

Emma Mercier

mercier@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Luc Paquette

lpaq@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Mark Dressman

mdressma@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

Robb Lindgren

robblind@illinois.edu Curriculum & Instruction

John Toenjes

jtoenjes@illinois.edu Dance

Mark Hasegawa-Johnson

jhasegaw@illinois.edu ECE

Thomas Huang

t-huang1@illinois.edu ECE

Wen-Hao David Huang

wdhuang@illinois.edu Education

Eboni Zamani-Gallaher

ezamanig@illinois.edu Education Policy, Organization and Leadership

Dan Morrow

dgm@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

H. Chad Lane

hclane@illinois.edu Educational Psychology

Spencer Schaffner

spencers@illinois.edu English

Allison Hansen

akh@illinois.edu Entomology

Gene Robinson

generobi@illinois.edu Entomology/Institute for Genomic Biology

Margarita Teran-Garcia

teranmd@illinois.edu Food Sciences and Human Nutrition

Mei-Po Kwan

mkwan@illinois.edu Geography

Sara McLafferty

smclaff@illinois.edu Geography

Shaowen Wang

shaowen@illinois.edu Geography

Bryan White

bwhite44@illinois.edu IGB

Victor Jongeneel

vjongene@illinois.edu IGB

Yu-Feng Lin

yflin@illinois.edu IL State Geological Survey

Deana McDonagh

mcdonagh@illinois.edu Industrial Design

Jeff Ginger

ginger@illinois.edu Informatics

Allen Renear

renear@illinois.edu iSchool

Bertram Ludaescher

ludaesch@illinois.edu iSchool

Bonnie Mak

bmak@illinois.edu iSchool

Carol Tilley

ctilley@illinois.edu iSchool

Catherine Blake

clblake@illinois.edu iSchool

Christine Jenkins

cajenkin@illinois.edu iSchool

David Dubin

ddubin@illinois.edu iSchool

Elizabeth Hoiem

hoiem@illinois.edu iSchool

Emily Knox

knox@illinois.edu iSchool

Ian Brooks

ianb@illinois.edu iSchool

J. Stephen Downie

jdownie@illinois.edu iSchool

Jana Diesner

jdiesner@illinois.edu iSchool

Jerome McDonough

jmcdonou@illinois.edu iSchool

Jodi Schneider

jodi@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate McDowell

kmcdowel@illinois.edu iSchool

Kate Williams

katewill@illinois.edu iSchool

Kathryn LaBarre

klabarre@illinois.edu iSchool

Les Gasser

gasser@illinois.edu iSchool

Linda Smith

lcsmith@illinois.edu iSchool

Lori Kendall

loriken@illinois.edu iSchool

Masooda Bashir

mnb@illinois.edu iSchool

Michael Twidale

twidale@illinois.edu iSchool

Nicole Cooke

nacooke@illinois.edu iSchool

Ted Underwood

tunder@illinois.edu iSchool

Terry Weech

weech@illinois.edu iSchool

Vetle Torvik

vtorvik@illinois.edu iSchool

Victoria Stodden

vcs@illinois.edu iSchool

Matthew Turk

mjturk@illinois.edu iSchool/ NCSA

Andrew C. Phillips

aphillps@illinois.edu ISGS

Brant Houston

houstonb@illinois.edu Journalism

Citlali Lopez-Ortiz

lopezort@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Sean Mullen

spmullen@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Wendy Rogers

wendyr@illinois.edu Kinesiology & Community Health

Brian Deal

deal@illinois.edu Landscape Architecture

Arden Rowell

karowell@illinois.edu Law

Jay Kesan

kesan@illinois.edu Law

Chilin Shih

cls@illinois.edu Linguistics

Roxana Girju

girju@illinois.edu Linguistics

George Francis

gfrancis@illinois.edu Math

Lisa Stubbs

ljstubbs@illinois.edu MCB

Philip Best

pbest@life.illinois.edu MCB

Rachel Whitaker

rwhitaker@life.illinois.edu MCB

Anita Chan

achan@illinois.edu Media & Cinema Studies

Bruce Schatz

schatz@uiuc.edu Medical Info. Science

Gary Olsen

gary@life.illinois.edu Microbiology

Heinrich Taube

taube@illinois.edu Music

Stephen Taylor

staylor7@illinois.edu Music

Anand Padmanabhan

apadmana@illinois.edu NCSA

Daniel Katz

dskatz@illinois.edu NCSA

Donna Cox

cox@ncsa.illinois.edu NCSA

Felipe Menanteau

felipe@illinois.edu NCSA

Gabrielle Allen

gdallen@illinois.edu NCSA

Keith Kelley

kwkelley@illinois.edu Neuroscience

Kevin Hamilton

kham@illinois.edu New Media

Ryan Griffis

ryan.griffis@gmail.com New Media

Schuyler Korban

korban@illinois.edu NRES

Zahra Mohaghegh

zahra13@illinois.edu Nuclear, Plasma, and Radiological Engineering

Yuan-Xiang Pan

yxpan@illinois.edu Nutritional Sciences

Amy Marshall-Colon

amymc@illinois.edu Plant Biology

Surangi Punyasena

punyasena@life.illinois.edu Plant Biology

Scott Althaus

salthaus@illinois.edu Political Science

Wendy Cho

wendycho@illinois.edu Political Science

David Enstrom

denstrom@illinois.edu Prairie Research Institute

Cynthia Fisher

clfishe@illinois.edu Psychology

Daniel Simons

dsimons@illinois.edu Psychology

Dolores Albarracin

dalbarra@illinois.edu Psychology

Gary Dell

gdell@illinois.edu Psychology

Jaime Lane Derringer

jderr@illinois.edu Psychology

John Hummel

jehummel@illinois.edu Psychology

Matt Browning

brownin@illinois.edu Recreation, Sport & Tourism

Judith Pintar

jpintar@illinois.edu Slavic Languages

Dan Steward

djs@illinois.edu Sociology

David Hopping

dhopping@illinois.edu Sociology

Maya Israel

misrael@illinois.edu Special Education

Bo Li

libo@illinois.edu Statistics

Dave Zhao

sdzhao@illinois.edu Statistics

Douglas Simpson

dgs@illinois.edu Statistics

Feng Liang

liangf@illinois.edu Statistics

Jeff Douglas

jeffdoug@illinois.edu Statistics

Naveen Narisetty

naveen@illinois.edu Statistics

Steven Culpepper

sculpepp@illinois.edu Statistics

Xiaohui Chen

xhchen@illinois.edu Statistics

Yuguo Chen

yuguo@illinois.edu Statistics

Marilyn O’Hara Ruiz

moruiz@illinois.edu VetMed

Ron Weigel

weigel@illinois.edu VetMed/ Pathobiology
Name Email Research area

Aseel Addawood

aaddaw2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Karen Allen

allen6@illinois.edu

Health and Medical Informatics

Mohammad Amanzadeh

amanzad2@illinois.edu

Art and Cultural Informatics

James Balamuta

balamut2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Priscilla Boff Ferronato

pf4@illinois.edu

Design, Technology and Society

Syed Abbas Bukhari

sbukhar@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

John Capozzo

capozzo2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Jarai Carter

carter31@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Usawadee Chaiprom

chaipro2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Ryan Chandler

rchan8@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Si Chen

sichen12@illinois.edu

Spatial Informatics

Juan De La Rosa

juanad2@illinois.edu

Design, Technology and Society

Craig Evans

csevans2@illinois.edu

Design, Technology and Society

William Gillespie

gillespi@illinois.edu

Art and Cultural Informatics

Acton Gorton

agorton2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Thierry Guigma

tguigma@illinois.edu

Health and Medical Informatics

Colleen Heinemann

heinmnn2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Hsiao-Ying Huang

hhuang65@illinois.edu

Design, Technology and Society

Kelechi Ikegwu

ikegwu2@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Michael Junokas

junokas@illinois.edu

Art and Cultural Informatics

Donald Keefer

dkeefer@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Kangjae Lee

klee171@illinois.edu

Health and Medical Informatics

Kyungho Lee

klee141@illinois.edu

Art and Cultural Informatics

Chang Liu

cliu100@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Yishuo Liu

yliu256@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Bushra Minhas

bfazal2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Mark Moran

markdm2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Fizza Mughal

fmughal2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Siva Ratna Kumari Narisetti

srn3@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

John Nguyen

jknguye2@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Santiago Nuñez-Corrales

nunezco2@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Justin Pence

jpence2@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Monica Porteanu

monicap2@illinois.edu

Design, Technology and Society

Ankit Rai

rai5@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Halie Rando

rando2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Nate Russell

ntrusse2@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Kuimars Soltani

soltani2@illinois.edu

Spatial Informatics

Joseph Troy

jmtroy2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Mikko Tuomela

mstuomel@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Daniel Wickland

wicklan2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Sean Wilner

swilner2@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Bradley Woodruff

bsw@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Xuesong Yang

xyang45@illinois.edu

Cognitive Science and Language Processing

Joe Yun

jtyun@illinois.edu

Data Analytics and Information Visualization

Pan Zhang

panz2@illinois.edu

Bioinformatics

Name Email Department

Arshan Nasir

arshan_nasir@comsats.edu.pk

Brent Fegley

Khuram Shahzad

shahzad2@illinois.edu

Scott Nixon

senixon@illinois.edu

Tom Le Paine

tom.le.paine@gmail.com Informatics

Yan Liu

yanliu@illinois.edu Informatics